52 Weeks of Gratitude-Week Two

2. Spouse/Significant Other

Yeah, whoops, I dropped the ball on this one. Technically, it’s week three of the challenge (how classic is it that I already fell behind), but you gotta understand why I did. This week is about being grateful for your significant other or spouse, and unless my cats count, I’m pretty sure I’m single. I’m independent as hell, so this fact doesn’t bother me too much. That being said, it would be nice to be able to gush a little bit about my jazz musician boyfriend with a well-kept beard whose idea of the perfect Saturday is taking a morning hike with a clear and present threat of brunch followed by reading together in bed for the rest of the day. Sadly (or not), I have yet to find that dream of a man. I’m pretty grateful for the fact that I still have this time to figure myself out before sharing my life with somebody else. It’s an exciting and terrifying concept, and I’m sure when I’m ready for it, it’ll happen.

Now, this past weekend was Valentine’s Day, and I’m sure most of you fell into one of these three categories. The first category is for the all the lovebirds out there who get to celebrate sharing their lives with someone. How lucky are they to have a day like this to celebrate that they found each other, even though, in my humble opinion, you should celebrate your love for each other every day. An extra special excuse once a year to go all out is pretty nice, though. I can honestly say I’m happy for ya’ll, and it warms my heart to see your smiling faces, but I do have to admit that it’s hard not to give in to my own bitterness over my ordinary day. Then there’s those of you who might spit in the general direction of the holiday fueled by gushy Hallmark cards, obscene amounts of chocolates, and cheesy Instagram posts of an expensive dinner complete with a bottle of wine and a bouquet of roses. Now, I see where you can get off on that. It can be a teeny bit obnoxious to see all the happy couples floating around in their clouds of lovers’ bliss while you’re sitting in your PJ’s seeing how fast you can shove a pint of Ben and Jerry’s down your throat. With that in mind, though, think about how great it is to not have to put on pants for a whole day! On the other hand, you have those well-meaning yet irritating individuals who do everything they can to make sure people know how glad they are that they’re single this year. After reading the billionth Facebook post about “not needing no man” or proclaiming “Happy Single’s Awareness Day”, you gotta admit that gets a little old as well. I’m pretty content in my so-called “singledom” as well, but does the world need to know that for it to be true? I’m not saying that any of these groups of people are better or worse than the other, but I just wish that we could all sort of be happy for one another and whatever way we decide to celebrate this day that, let’s face it, is just like any other day of the year. We too often place such high stakes in it. Do whatever makes YOU happy on Valentine’s Day. After all, it’s a day about love. That can be love for a significant other, love for your tight knit group of friends, or, most importantly, love for yourself. Just be grateful for wherever you’re at in life (see how I brought that gratitude thing in?) because it’s exactly where you’re meant to be.

Leave a Reply

